Sondipon Adhikari

Professor Sondipon Adhikari (FRAeS)
Chair of Aerospace Engineering
College of Engineering, Swansea University
Bay Campus, Fabian Way, Crymlyn Burrows
Swansea, SA1 8EN, United Kingdom
Phone: + 44 (0)1792 602088, Fax: + 44 (0)1792 295676
Twitter Linkedin


Students, Post-docs and Visitors

Prospective Students: Research Opportunities with Professor Adhikari

Partial or full funding are often available for home or EU students wanting to pursue PhD. Funding for foreign students are also available occasionally (please contact if you are interested). Applications on my research interests are always welcome. Please see my publications and also visit the research web-site of the College for other related projects. Prospective students:
  • must be very highly motivated
  • should have strong background in mathematics and computer programming
  • should have excellent academic record (2.1 and above)
Please look at the University's Postgraduate Prospectus:
You can also apply on-line from this web-page:

For prospective postdoctoral researchers, excellent track record proven by high quality journal publications is desirable. Please contact me if interested.

Post Docs and Visitors

Post Doctoral Research Fellows

  • Dr. Carl Scarth, Multiscale stochastic dynamics, 01/2016-
  • Dr. Sudip Dey, Dynamics of composite satrucrtes with uncertainties, 01/2014-06/2015
    • Moved to: Assistant Professor, NIT Silchar, Assam, India
  • Dr. Tony Murmu, Scale dependent theory for nano-mechanical systems, 01/2010-12/2010
    • Moved to: Lecturer, University of the West of Scotland (UWS), Glasgow, UK
  • Dr. Sk. Faruque Ali, Stochastic control of smart systems, 01/2010-12/2011
    • Moved to: Assistant Professor, IIT Madras, Chennai, India
  • Dr Ruggero Gabbrielli, Computational geometry for nanoscale modeling, 04/2009-11/2009
    • Moved to: Marie Curie Fellow, Department of Physics, University of Trento, Italy
  • Dr. Rajib Chowdhury, Uncertainty quantification and nanomechanics, 11/2008-07/2011
    • Moved to: Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Roorkee, India

Academic Visitors

  • Dr Anas Batou, 01/2015-02/2015, Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée: Dynamics of cellular structures (Currently in the University of Liverpool).
  • Dr Vikas Arora, 07/2014-08/2014, University of Southern Denmark: Updating of structural dynamic models.
  • Prof. Leonid Pastur, 09/2012, B. I. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics & Engineering, Kharkov, Ukraine: Random Matrix Theory.
  • Prof. S Narayanan, 06/2011-07/2011, IIT Madras (on Royal Society Grant): Energy Harvesting.
  • Prof. Eric Jacquelin, 01/2011-07/2011, UCBL/University of Lyon 1 (on Sabbatical Leave): Stochastic Dynamics.
  • Prof. Grzegorz Litak, 03/2010-, Lublin University of Technology, Poland (co-hosted with Prof M I Friswell with Royal Society funding): Dynamics of viscoelastically damped rotors.
  • Dr J. K. Dutt, 06/2009-08/2009, Mechanical Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India (co-hosted with Prof M I Friswell with Royal Society funding): Dynamics of viscoelastically damped rotors.
  • Dr. Y. Lei, 2005-06 and 2012, College of Aerospace and Material Engineering, National University of Defense Technology, Changsha, Hunan, China (jointly hosted with Prof M I Friswell, Bristol): Nonlocal damping models for distributed parameter dynamical systems.

Current and Past Students

PhD students

    Current students

  • Jatin Patrik, 2016-, Dynamics of metamaterials
  • Paul Byrne, 2016-, Hybrid molecular dynamics and finite element method, Jointly supervised with Dr MJ Clee
  • Sion Eilir Pryse, 2015-, Reduced order modelling and error estimates for time varying stochastic systems
  • German Martinez Ayuso,, 2015-, Ambient piezoelectric vibration energy harvesting exploiting impact nonlinearity, Jointly supervised with Professor MI Friswell
  • Hadi Madinei,, 2014-, Robust design of vibration-based energy harvesting systems, Jointly supervised with Dr H Haddad Khodaparast
  • Past students

  • Tanmoy Mukhopadhyay, 2014-2017, Stochastic multiscale dynamic systems
    • Moved to: Department of Engineering Science Department, University of Oxford, UK.
  • Marcela Machado, 2013-2016, Damage identification in stochastic dynamic systems (Co-supervisor)
    • Moved to: Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Brasilia, Brazil.
  • Jin Zhang, 2012-2014, Mechanics of metallic nanotubes and nanosheets, Jointly supervised with Dr C Wang
    • Moved to: Assistant Professor, Harbin Institue of Technology, Shenzhen, China
  • Abhishek Kundu, 2011-2015, Computational methods for time-dependent stochastic finite element problems
    • Moved to: Lecturer, School of Engineering, Cardiff University, Cardiff, UK
  • Blanca Oliver Pascual, 2009-2012, Dynamic response of stochastic oscillatory systems
    • Moved to: Scientist, Rutherford Appleton laboratory, Oxford, UK
  • F. Alejandro Diaz De la O, 2007-2010, Gaussian process emulators for structural dynamic analysis
    • Moved to: Lecturer, School of Engineering, University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK
  • Jonathan du Bois, 2005-2009 (Bristol, UK), Active fuselage response suppression, Jointly supervised with Prof N Lieven
    • Moved to: Lecturer, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Bath, Bath, UK
  • Mohammad Khalil, 2004-2009 (Ottawa, Canada), Identification on nonlinear dynamical systems, Jointly supervised with Prof A Sarkar
    • Moved to: Scientist, Sandia National Lab, California, USA

Masters students

  • Madelein Midtoy (2014-15): Uncertainty modelling for dynamics of composite structures - Finite element analysis (M. Sc)
  • Alex Aylett (2013-15): Dynamic analysis of box wing structures - experimental investigations (M. Sc)
  • Yatish Chandra (2011-13): Atomistic finite element method for graphene composites (M. Res)
  • Arnab Dasgupta (2010-11): Automatic blood glucose regulation using nonlinear control theory (M. Sc)
  • Tom Allison (2009-10): Nano sensors for biological detection (M. Eng)
  • Stephan Paustian-Bulmer (2009-10): Energy harvesting at the nano-scale (M. Sc)
  • Ramsay Ilyat (2009-10): Piezo-electric energy harvesting from ambient vibration (M. Eng)
  • Amin Hedayetullah (2009-10): Energy harvesting for health monitoring of bridges (Erasmus Mundus)
  • Gregory Hodoli (07/2009-10/2009): Structural analysis using periodic structure theory (M. Sc)
  • Rob Curran (2008-09): On the design and analysis of morphing wing aircrafts (M. Eng)
  • Blanca Oliver Pascual (2007-08): Random matrix approach for the stochastic finite element method (M. Res)

Group social events photos

Home | Research | Publications | Teaching | Lectures | Students and Post-docs | Education & awards | Professional activities | Contact | Departmental web page | Downloads